baby sling

i made my sister a sling on wednesday. i used this pattern. it was okay if you want to try it. it’s based on the “peanut shell” design which is very lovely but sadly expensive. where do they get that neat-o fabric and is it $20 a yard?

sling7.jpg

it’s a little big for me (that is why i’m clutching it), i’m hoping it will fit better on her. all in all it was a pretty simple project. i learned how to do the ‘french seam’, which is very handy. i was also able to use up the leftover fabric from my ironing board cover, i just lined it with some pretty cornflower blue satin.

sling55.jpg

in fact i have exactly enough to make one more. the material can’t have any seams in it. so while you would could make it with one yard you have to buy two. so if anyone wants one i would put myself through the agony again for $20. they are tailored to fit, so i would need your measurements. next time i plan on putting a pocket on the front or machine embroider something like, “caution, i bite.” or a monogram. so if you want it let me know. otherwise i will just make it for me, only i will put it off for 9 months.

8 Responses to “baby sling”


  1. 1 Gayla July 5, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    Why is Je looking so unhappy here?

  2. 2 mavis July 5, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    he’s not. he’s just busy picking his nose.

  3. 3 Lola July 5, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    ah, you. I was just pondering your whereabouts a few days ago, and thinking how I had never told you how wonderful your fam pic is. everyone has commented on it (the house bulletin board held it…and will again, but I’ve just moved).
    a gnome card. or a few. you just give me your lil address and I will flow it/them along. right now I’m pretty depleted, but give me a little time.
    I liked your perfect houses. I should switch to wordpress, methinks. everything is prettier.

  4. 4 mother July 6, 2007 at 8:20 am

    did gideon teach jehu that bad habit. love your sling and you better not wait 9 months, you better start it now, time has a way of getting away from you love mom

  5. 5 mavis July 6, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    actually, i have to wait until i am nice and fat to get the right measurement.

  6. 6 Tiffany October 31, 2007 at 8:56 am

    Glad to see you are a sling mama! I love mine. I have a babymoon sling, and a lalibaby pouch, and a Mei Tei from an unknown source. My favorite thing though is that Ana’el and Yasha carry their babies around in a little sling too. Makes me happy.

    Glad to find your blog (don’t know why it didn’t occur to me sooner that you had one. slow lab rat I guess)

    Happy human growing!

  7. 7 Jan Andrea February 12, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    For what it’s worth, the Peanut Shell came out several years after I added the pouch pattern to my website 🙂 Most pouches are sewn pretty much the same way (it’s the sizing that’s the sticky point for most companies), but the pattern is just how I sewed a pouch — it’s not based on any single existing pouch.


  1. 1 a mavis-ism « Trackback on September 14, 2007 at 7:56 pm
Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads