bad mommy

i can’t remember my kids’ names.  maybe that’s my fault for naming them so obscurely and then having five.  but dang-it, i run through at least three proper nouns, including siblings and close friends,  before hitting on the right one.  “jael, natalie, judith, what’s your face…rahab!”  anyways, it’s just not right.  i remember my friend with five was here, and her two year old was having a melt down.  she kept remonstrating with her and it only got worse, until we finally picked up on what the girl was blubbering about.   “i’m not sussanna, i’m jane!  i’m jane!”  ha.  poor little kid.  not that i would feel too bad.  but really, i either i need to round up the will power to clean up my act or just start calling them “hey kid.”

i’m leaning towards the latter.  i think it’s “son” or “daughter” from here on out.  unless your name is “gideon.”  then i don’t even bother, i just whip out my water safety whistle and cover my ears.  i got this.

2 Responses to “bad mommy”


  1. 1 Arwen B August 13, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    It could be worse!

    At least you haven’t started running through the ~pets’~ names when trying to call your children… ^_^

  2. 2 mavis August 13, 2013 at 9:27 pm

    ah yes, this is considerably less of a problem since i don’t deign to call pets by their proper names to begin with. 😉 even my two year old is known to fend off erstwhile canines by shouting, “go way dog face!” my mother, on the other hand, is absolutely criminal in this regard.


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

Top Posts & Pages

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads