a mavis-ism

i was compelled to create a new ironing board cover (i just made one 3 months ago) because it didn’t match my new iron. this is a mavis-ism. i could not live with myself with mis-matched ironing board cover and iron. i tried to explain this to my husband, and being the compassionate man that he is, he let me make yet another trip to joanne’s. well, sort of.

board1.jpg

the old cover was made out of this. and it didn’t go with my sewing machine cover either. so i bore up and did the horrible project again. it is horrible, and if you don’t believe me you can try it yourself. there is something about it getting all cinched up nice and tight and threading all that mile of drawstring.

board.jpg

board2.jpg

that’s why i went to my grandma’s. i take all the things i don’t want to do to my grandma’s. it’s very consoling. and she fed me waffles. we went yard saling too and i found this vanity light (new in box) for $5. i don’t need a vanity light, but it was only $5. what can a girl do? i checked on the internet when i got home and it is worth $80. good call anyways, right?  let me know if you want it mom.

light.jpg

3 Responses to “a mavis-ism”


  1. 1 I Just Work Here September 16, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    How did you come up with the pattern to make that ironing board cover and sewing machine cover? That is so neat!

  2. 2 mavis September 17, 2007 at 8:16 am

    i just tipped the ironing board upside down on the fabric and traced around it with a compass leaving a good 5″ overhang. you have to be sure to get enough to go under the nose and catch. on my first one it was too small and i had to sew a separate piece to go under the nose, which i think was more of a pain. then i hemmed the edges with bias tape and threaded drawstring through. it took two people to cinch it up since i made it so big. i still had to take up some slack with little elastic belts underneath. i clipped one of these on a side and threaded between them with elastic. worked great, though i’m sure joanne’s has something else.

    my mother-in-law helped with the sewing machine cover. the night before my husband was trying to make me a pattern in autocad with the exact radius of the curve etc, and i became very confused. my mother-in-law just grabbed the scissors and told me not to think about it.

  3. 3 I Just Work Here September 17, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    That’s so neat. I’ll have to try the ironing board cover. I don’t really like mine. You have an awesome mother in law too.


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

Top Posts & Pages

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


