one for me

yesterday i sewed a nursing cover for myself. if the baby plans on staying put, maybe i will get around to my new diaper bag too.

hootie.jpg

people have been asking for instructions on how to make simple chaing pads and burp cloths. all you do is sew two rectangles (one fabric and one terry) together and then turn them inside out and sew around the circumference again. you just need to know the dimensions – the burp cloth (before you sew it) is 10×18 inches and the changing pad is 16×22. sew your two rectangles together with a half inch seam allowance then turn them inside out and sew around again with your foot right against the edge. don’t forget to throw in some ribbons on the changing pad (for tying). i don’t think it’s hard enough to merit real directions, so i do hope you survive.

5 Responses to “one for me”


  1. 1 Misty February 27, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Mavis-thanks for the instructions. They work for me…I’m going to scrounge around my falling-apart towels for the burpie and buttie and get sewing. Good luck with the icky, gross baby. May he/she come soon! I’m 29+ weeks and really tired of this hippo look. Third time around isn’t as cute or fascinating.

    Misty

  2. 2 mavis February 27, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    *lol* not so cute and fascinating at all. especially around the neck…

  3. 3 babysitteronboard June 16, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Love the burpies and butties! Thanks for sharing your instructions, my icky little 3 month old is getting some new ones this week!

  4. 4 Erika July 23, 2008 at 7:04 am

    So I found you last night and I am obsessed….not in a crazy stalker way…but in a OMG I am in awe of your ability kind of way:-)I am waiting (not so patiently by the way) for my 3rd little girl and feeling this crafty need taking hold. I even dragged my huband, 4.5 yo and 18 month old to the fabric store last night….after readign your blogs on how to make things. I am going to start out with the burpies…I think that even I can handle it. and then moving on to a hooter hider and finally I am going to try and recreate your FABULOUSly ADORABLE bib…..I will let you know how it goes….. You are now book marked as a favorite…so THANKS!!!

    Erika

  5. 5 mavis July 23, 2008 at 7:25 am

    oh my. well i will hate to disappoint you erika, but i haven’t sewed anything in months. we got a new house and baby in february and it has been busy busy. today’s menu actually includes painting the trim on the picture window, painting the new front door, painting the bathroom door, painting the ceiling in the boys’ room and painting my new baseboards. the fervor is on account that my boys are out of town for the week being shamelessly spoiled somewhere. so my advice, sew away! spend all your husband’s money at joanne fabrics, while you can. oh yes, and in the sidebar under “friends” is my sister-in-laws link. on her blog she has her crafty wish list which makes me drool every time i stop by. sigh.


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads