i have made a pie

actually, i made two.  because that was the right thing to do.

one rhubarb and one illegitimately pilfered blackberry.  pick your poison.

but really i need to lay off.  pie making needs to get more militant around here and a little less grandois.  au revoir all butter crust.  mommy’s switching to oil.  *gasp*  sorry, but i ain’t gratin’, freezin’, chillin’ butter, and everything that touches it – like i have all the time in the world.  because i don’t.  i need to be able to mix it in one step, throw it in the pan, and into the oven.  that’s the next military objective.  it was nice knowing you, but that is why we have grandmas with a stockpile of vodka in their refrigerator and a tendency toward sunday dinner martyrdom.  see you in 20 years.  although i might stop in and say hello come christmas.

3 Responses to “i have made a pie”


  1. 1 Jessica M. July 30, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    Have you ever made a pat-in-pan piecrust? They’re super easy and use vegetable oil. I have a recipe if you’d like it…just sent me a FB message. 🙂

  2. 2 mavis July 30, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    rolling out pie crust doesn’t give me any grief. in fact, that’s my favorite part. are you saying this will all change one i go the way of the gentiles? 😉 and i just can’t do shortening. it creeps me out. i’m thinking i might want to experiment with coconut oil.

  3. 3 Jessica M. July 31, 2012 at 8:03 am

    I know what you mean about shortening. I actually only use it when I make this pie crust, which isn’t as often as it seems you make pie crust! 🙂 Otherwise it’s butter and olive oil around here. I’m pretty sure you could substitute coconut oil for the veg. oil in the recipe I have…but I wonder how that would work with the oil having to be warm (from melting it). I might have to do some experimenting of my own.


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


