the tablecloth

a friend was by the other day and when she sat down at my table she remarked, “i wish i would use my tablecloths more.”  which prompted me to confess that i was mostly in the same boat.  however, i have developed a plan.  (if you didn’t know that about me, i’m always hatching plans.)

personally, i could never find the right time to put on a tablecloth.  it always seemed a shame to throw one on before dinner, so people could defile it.  or, more pointedly, so i could wash it.  that and they always seemed like they needed ironed at the most inopportune moments.  and besides that, they were too pretty.  one thing led to another and i was quite certain my life would be over before i ever used them at all.  i would die and you would find piles of tablecloths at my posthumous estate sale.

well i won’t let it happen.  so here’s a simple trick: throw one on the table after lunch. genius, i know.  okay, for one thing, it makes me feel more excited about cleaning the kitchen after lunch (when i would rather be passed out dead).  second, i have all afternoon to enjoy it before it heads, with all due futility, to the laundry.  but lest that’s too easy, here is my second trick: put it on while the table is wet.  then you can smooth it down with your fingers.  it sucks down marvelously and dries nice and flat.  this tablecloth was line dried, crispy and wrinkled as all get-out, and you would never know.  anyways, the little things that keep me keeping on.  enjoy.  *m

7 Responses to “the tablecloth”


  1. 1 Mackenzie July 18, 2012 at 11:16 am

    I also love the non-vinyl ‘spillproof’ kind — bad gunk still sticks, but most things wipe right off and it lasts a couple of days. Hurrah!

  2. 2 Grandma Sandy July 18, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    Looks like you found your camera. I put my table cloth on after I clean the table and then take it off right before we eat. It never gets dirty. I prefer crocheted table clothes. Alas I think you children are starving at grandma’s house. Good thing we have lots of dried apples.

  3. 3 mavis July 18, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    mack d – link me up a cute one.

  4. 5 mavis July 19, 2012 at 10:23 am

    i want that second one. although i’m still not sure if it’s a match for the beastly baby. i’d have to call in some place mats for back-up.

  5. 6 Mackenzie July 19, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    Oh, and they also come out of the dryer with nary a wrinkle. I find them at Ross for about $10-$15 depending on the price. They also are called ‘indoor/outdoor’ tablecloths.

  6. 7 tiffany July 21, 2012 at 10:52 pm

    I have some crazy table clothes that when liquid hits it, it just balls up and rolls off. Amusing with a few drops, less amusing the time an entire pitcher of water was knocked over (and our table isn’t level) actually come to think of it… we laughed pretty hard then too. They stay crazy clean, even with small ones eating messy food. I found them at Tuesday Morning and bought a bunch. I have grand plans of making an apron or two out of one.


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


