timing

is pretty much everything.  i think it’s funny how your body must know you are going to have a baby.  a week before christmas i thought to send the kids to their grammy’s for a week.  usually i don’t like to part from them that long.  especially when grammy’s spanking stick is a fat, padded heart.  in any case, i blitzed the house, cleaned the fridge, sorted the attic, got a pedicure, waxed my eyebrows, windexed all kinds of things, unpacked all the baby clothes and got the carseat down and washed it.  while i was at it, i got up the nerve to wash jael’s.  it has the same effect as putting it in the blender.  which means i spent a night patching it and cursing.  (you can click here for the documented history of this favorite activity.)

i’m just glad i got that project off my back because it will be another year before i’m ready to look at the sewing machine again.  even though baby rahab is dreamy.  it’s the other three that run you ragged.  in any case, home safe and sound.  having a baby in twin falls on accident was heaven sent.  i recovered over there while my children trashed grammy’s house.  then we packed up and came home to a clean house.  excellent.  let’s do it again.

5 Responses to “timing”


  1. 1 Grandma Sandy January 13, 2011 at 10:09 am

    Yes, I think it was well planned out. I must have a padded heart also. Natalie has informed me that I will never be allowed to watch her children as I am too tolerant. The life of a Grandma.

  2. 2 Grandma Gayla January 13, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    Those little boys were actually quite lovely to have here, though Gideon thought “it was the baddest they’d ever been at Grammy’s”. And it was much easier to be at our house and drive to TF to check on the baby than to drive to Boise to do it all.I just feel sorry for the new little tyke who has to have her birthday the day after Christmas. I think we ought to celebrate it in July with mine.

  3. 3 Ali Tong January 15, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    Ok, so this has nothing to do with your original post (Which btw I love that carseat) But you may not actually believe that I had someone commission an apple cozy from me a while ago. For reals. I didn’t put it on the blog, mostly because I didn’t want to get made fun of. Yeah, for reals.

  4. 4 mavis January 15, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    i would love to mortify children by sending them to school with those. it’s awesome. “…what kind of sick freak?”

  5. 5 jupiterbuttons January 28, 2011 at 11:28 am

    Excellent plan, I only wish we had the option. Must move closer to grandparents.

    Loving the carseat, by the way. We have an old Britax with a badly faded tan cover that’s seen better days. Maybe I will try to patch over the worst green spots.


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


