it’s a girl!

now isn’t that the best news ever?  due january 9th.  we can’t wait.

to be named, of course, after the innovative and quick thinking prostitute from the book of joshua.  everybody needs one.

my husband on the other hand votes for the name ruby.  and while i can imagine many prostitutes went by that name as well, i doubt any were as thrifty.

p.s.  here is a fun little write-up on rahab and her undervalued assets.  she was really quite remarkable.

12 Responses to “it’s a girl!”


  1. 1 Kandi August 16, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    I’m so glad to hear the great news. Now January babies are the best if I say so myself!

  2. 2 Jessica M. August 16, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    So happy for you! And you’re quite right about Rahab – she plays an amazing part in the story of our Savior.

  3. 3 katya August 16, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    despite her former questionable profession….. and
    So, now prostitution is only a questionable profession, not a sinful one?

    AND
    Rahab is an example of someone who was saved, though she was a sinner. OHHO! so who needs to be saved if they’re NOT a sinner?

    Great article, M!
    And when you have twins, you can name them Rudy and Ruby!

  4. 4 mavis August 16, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    i think she would be someone fun to study. a little overlooked is all. as for twins, i was hoping to have a jael and judith but it’s too late for that. i couldn’t wait. and i’m sure rahab, like jael, is bound to be a character. i’m beginning to think names are kind of dangerous.

  5. 5 Nightmare from washington August 16, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    I’m just curious? How many are you planning on having? I’ve heard a lot of different numbers but I want to hear what Miranda has to say.

  6. 6 Grammy August 16, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    Much prefer Ruby.

  7. 7 mavis August 16, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    comeon grammy, we all know ruby is a boy’s name.

  8. 8 mom August 16, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    is it just me or does this baby look like a gideon. (chin?)

  9. 9 Kate August 16, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Oh wow, CONGRATULATIONS! I read you blog but rarely comment. I am THRILLED for you – and the name? Fabulous. Rahab is BY FAR my favorite person in the Bible. I didn’t read your link yet, but once heard in a sermon that Rahab is in the geneology of Jesus. (you can see so in Matthew) Such a beautiful and practical illustration of God’s mercy and grace. That He uses the least of these for His plans and purposes. And to be named after her is a HUGE honor in my opinion.

    Congrats again!!

  10. 10 Angela August 16, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    I’m so excited for you! I started reading your blog before you became pregnant with Jael and have so enjoyed watching your family grow! Congratulations!

  11. 11 bec August 18, 2010 at 7:15 am

    yeah for a girl! glad that jael will have a sister.

  12. 12 Jessica August 23, 2010 at 9:08 am

    Congrats!! We love having girls close together… so fun!


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


