love the one you’re with

it’s my new (old?) decorating mantra.  i have been living with the furniture i primed in october, just waiting for the day i could run over to home depot and sell my soul for paint.  but my soul apparently isn’t worth much and they always want money.  so instead,  i just took the leftover touch-up paint from when my sister-in-law moved out of her apartment.  i can live with that.  except what kind of person buys flat paint?

the kids have already marked up the coffee table, which is the same consistency of a chalk board.  i had to make it off limits until i can buy some high gloss (the way things are meant to be).  this is the coffee table i found for $5, by the way.  with my matching $5 mirror, which is sweetness itself.

my end table was also $5 and my “buffet” (a term that always confuses my husband, “you mean that rolling, hunk of crap, tv cabinet?”) – i found alongside the road for free.  we just put the little fabric panels in and i love it.  it stores all my dishes and serving trays so it is technically a buffet.  i insist.

so things are coming together slowly.  not exactly orchestrated, but i’m not really that kind of girl.  all my throw pillows came out of the clearance bin at pottery barn.  they were basically the only five that weren’t in earth tones, burlap, cow or paisley and i snatched them right up.  i think they are finally starting to coordinate with the room.  once you accumulate all the colors in the rainbow it gets easier.

5 Responses to “love the one you’re with”


  1. 1 adrienne January 26, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Your buffet rocks. I’ve been looking for one and haven’t found anything half so nice.

  2. 2 Grammy January 27, 2010 at 7:49 am

    The quilt looks great.

  3. 3 mackenzie January 27, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    Love the quilt and the room looks perfect and lovely. And your rug is at my house, so unless you want me to commandeer it you’d better come visit me and fetch it.

  4. 4 paula January 31, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    Mmm, it looks very nice. Can you get a cheap gloss finish (or a spray) to put over the flat paint? I have decided that flat paint is the devil’s way to tempt children and husbands to do something untoward to the walls. (Or furniture, in your case.)


  1. 1 paint happy « Trackback on March 17, 2010 at 11:41 am
Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


