a project that is done?

i don’t believe it.  i tell you, it took years.  it all started when i decided i wanted to paint a heinously ugly, 70’s dresser.  i thought you found those things alongside the road for free.  instead i had to stalk craigslist for months and finally drag it out of a trailer in garden city.  (that’s where they keep them all you know.  a gold mine.)

then i had to wash it, vacuum it, putty over the holes from the ancient, scrolled hardware and then prime it.  and then paint it.  and then paint it again.  painting relief like that is evil.  and of course, when i got it all done i realized i had bought a dresser that was missing a door.  i had to ask myself if i was retarded and then make my brother hand fit me one from an old cupboard door.  then i had to sand, prime and paint that.

for some reason, i could never talk my husband into buying me hardware for this dresser.  after all, i had just took off piles of perfectly nice brass hardware.  what is my problem?  but i held firm.  i clawed open said dresser for three months waiting for my chance.  the chance came (i think it’s called stealing) and the hardware was bought.  …the hardware was never put on.  fortunately, marc was laid off from work.  “look honey!  now you have plenty of time to put on these nice drawer pulls here.  what a good idea.”

eventually the door pulls were put on.  but the cupboard door that reuben made was too big.  (was he retarded?)  so i had to wait until christmas until someone could bring me an electric plane from deary.  then the door was cut down to size and i had to re-sand and re-paint it.  after waiting another month, indeed, the door was put on.  isn’t it swell?  someday it will go in the boys room (not the toy room) with their matching quilts and prints.  after i paint the bunk beds.

9 Responses to “a project that is done?”


  1. 1 mackenzie January 21, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    I love the color. It was worth the pain, I think!

  2. 2 Nightmare from Washington January 21, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    Hum, Well you always take time? A long time.

  3. 3 Banana January 21, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    Wow, I never would have thought an ugly 70’s dresser could look that good!

  4. 4 mavis January 22, 2010 at 8:36 am

    i know, it’s addicting! i want to collect them all. i would love to do one of these:

    http://www.designspongeonline.com/2009/10/before-after-emilys-armoire-ingrids-chair.html

    and if i didn’t already have a bed, i would be all over one of the righteously ugly, plastic headboards. the bigger the better. huge, towering and ugly. i would love it.

  5. 5 Nightmare from Washington January 23, 2010 at 9:21 am

    Sweet Mackrel. I sure as hell have to keep you away from where I work. You’d have stuff carted away like no ones business. My antique guy is good with shit like that.

  6. 6 mavis January 23, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    maybe you should start carting away for me. i want an antique vanity with mirror. i’m sure you could stuff one of those in your backseat.

  7. 7 mavis January 23, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    and watch your mouth mitchell.

  8. 8 Nightmare from Washington January 24, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    I called a mackerel sweet? or was it the simple H word? I’m confused. And as for the back seat I have a big truck now. I could put it in the back but I sure wont bring it all the way down there. You’d have to come get it. But I can keep a eye out for stuff. My boss throws out a lot of really good stuff. Shrug.


  1. 1 kid storage « Trackback on July 8, 2012 at 5:26 pm
Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


