old mother hubbard

i had my china out for an airing the other day.  my cupboards still don’t have doors on them so i had to take everything out wash them down.  while i was at it washed all the dishes.  i thought i would take a picture for you.

china1china2

since they’re so gorgeous.  don’t you wish you could spend all your money on dishes?

china4

i picked up another 6 settings of my gold crown china at a yard sale for $2.  now i have service for twelve.  dinner plates, bread plates, salad plates and tea cups with saucers.  no dessert bowls though.  or any other bowls for that matter.  and not a single serving dish.  haven’t bumped into one anywhere.

china5china6

and here they are all put away.  waiting to get all dusty again.  you know, i do have the doors painted and sitting in the garage…  not that that means anything.  just a thought.

6 Responses to “old mother hubbard”


  1. 1 mackenzie May 29, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    But then you couldn’t see all those pretty dishes. Get glass doors, that would be perfect. And I want your china, aren’t I greedy?

  2. 3 MItch May 31, 2009 at 11:13 am

    All your money on dishes? I don’t even spend that much ob cloths. much less anything else. Now my truck thats a completely different chore.

  3. 4 mavis June 1, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    evan – i did. except they didn’t they only thing i would be willing to shell out real money for and that was a teapot. all these teacups and not a teapot in sight.

    thanks*m

  4. 5 jupiterbuttons June 1, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Goodness, I am jealous. I got rid of so many pretty dishes before we moved here because I just couldn’t justify shipping them (only to have them dwell in the dark, cockroach-y recesses of my cabinets). Sigh.

  5. 6 mavis June 2, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    which reminds me paula, did you like those red, polka dot mugs i sent you? i *had* to buy them but they didn’t match anything so i couldn’t keep them. wondered if you had the same predicament.


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


