kandidish giveaway

*miriam would be the winner.  “hooray, hooray!”*

my friend kandi has put up an etsy shop.  you should be excited.  lately she has been working on these little miniatures, which are hard not to like.  she is also letting me give one away, so pop over to her shop and let me know which one your heart desires.  i’ll draw a lucky number friday (a week from today).

scarf2

my favorite thing about kandi is that she lives and breathes art.  she is so freaking natural at it that she makes you nervous.  if i was going to paint something i would approach such a venture with great trepidation.  she just has at it.  you should see her when she quilts.  she grabs a wad of fabric and makes like edward scissorhands.  “kandi!  where’s your ruler, where’s your rotary cutter!  what the hell are you doing!?”  and then it turns out more beautiful and unique than you could have imagined.  i just can’t bear to watch.

umb2umb

the upside of this is that she thinks nothing of custom work.  she doesn’t ever seem to get burnt out and she would take painting over endusting any day.  so i don’t feel bad when i send her links to all my favorite jellyfish paintings and say, “kandi, i would like a little of this with some of this and the colors from this and i want it 4 feet by 3 and i would like it to glow…please.”  well, not too bad.  this is the next best trick and you should try it.  (we did it for our christmas cards.)  send her a picture and she turns this:

xmas

into this:

christmascardplain

well, not exactly.  i couldn’t find the original photo but i’m sure you get the idea.  if you ever need an artist on call, kandi is your girl.  she can do anything; sewing, scrapbooking, ceramics, watercolor, acrylic and oil, charcoal, pen and ink.  she’s not trapped by any style and can be as realistic as she is abstract.  so if there is anything your fanciful mind thinks up, she can do it.  she is also very affordable.  so if you have always wanted your family portrait in glowing oils hanging above your mantel, take this as a sign.

9 Responses to “kandidish giveaway”


  1. 1 Melissa Oberson April 3, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Hey, I actually have been wanting one of these so bad. I’ve just been waiting for my own stuff to sell so I can get some money to have you do some pieces for the kids’ rooms. I’m sure you’ll start having some luck soon, it seems to take people a little while to notice new sellers. But don’t worry, be happy, God gave you a trmendous gift and it will happen for you. You have the kind of art I could see in museums. It’s so fantastic.

  2. 2 mackenzie April 3, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    I love the drip-drop print. It will be perfect for my baby’s nursery (if she’s a she, that is) alongside the umbrella mobile.

  3. 3 Jessica April 3, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    Oh how creative! I like the picture she remade from your picture. Amazing work. My favorite is the girl holding the umbrella! Love her site.

  4. 4 Judy April 5, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Drip-Drop is my favorite…it’s rained a lot here lately…a lot, a lot.

    I must say I covet your red shoes…

    You guys have a family extraordinare!

  5. 5 Gayla April 5, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    I think you ought to go into business as a publicist. You’re good. Of course, you’d only be able to publicize stuff you like because you’re also honest.

  6. 6 violeta April 6, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    i like the fairy one

  7. 7 miriam April 7, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    What a cool idea! It is ideal for Christmas card, too. Glad to learn of her.

    I love the Drip Drop print- it’s perfect for Oregonians.

  8. 8 Misty April 8, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Oh, Mavis, I love love love the drip drop print. It would look perfect in my princess’s room.

  9. 9 miriam April 12, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    Wow, I get to look at all your fun and funky stylin’ pics, oggle your kids hair, read your sassy words AND win fabulous prizes?

    Thank you, Mavis & Kandidish!

    Can’t wait to lay my eyes on that print, I have just the spot for it.


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


