to a thousand generations

i went in for my ultrasound yesterday to find out that baby number four didn’t make it.  it was strangely gut wrenching to see my tiny baby on the screen and to be told that she didn’t have a heart beat.  there isn’t anything worse for a mother than having something bad happen to her children, no matter how small they are.  but i do believe this baby will be waiting for me.  if it could be said, i think god errors on the side of grace.  children of believing parents are children of promise.  children made holy (1 corinthians 7:14) and children of a god who is faithful to those who love him, to a thousand generations.  god doesn’t have an eye just to saving individuals but to saving families.  his hand and his promises aren’t just for me, they’re for my children.  and it’s not my husband and i that raise our children to the faith, but the spirit of god that we have entrusted them to.  we trust him for this one as well.

jotham djalma, september 16, 2007

dinah risete, may 1,  2009

samson caetano, february 28, 2010

jemimah thaise, november 28, 2011

joab ronaldinho, december 17, 2013

“Father we thank you for this little baby and his precious little life. No matter how short it was we know it was Your design. We know that he never knew anything, and that his only connection is with his parents and grandparents and family. His eternal life depends on us. We look forward to seeing him in heaven. How wonderful it will be to watch him grow up in that perfect place. May we all be faithful in Jesus’ name, Amen.”  ~ Granddad, 2010

** Here is a link to my husband pronouncing the names, because you’re right, they don’t look like English.

12 Responses to “to a thousand generations”


  1. 1 mom April 1, 2009 at 9:50 am

    marc and miranda as always your words are a testimony to all of us. we mourn today but we have hope in our lord who is always faithful and true, he has given us his word and his only begotten son.
    IT IS WELL WITH MY SOUL

  2. 2 mackenzie April 1, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Wonderful expression of why we do not grieve as those who have no hope. We look forward to meeting Dinah in heaven and only can be sorry that we were not able to first meet her here. Much love to you and the kiddos.

  3. 3 Jessica April 1, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    I am so very sorry for you and for your family, but rejoice with you that your little one is in Heaven with her Savior. Thank God for His promises!

    “But from everlasting to everlasting the LORD’s love is with those who fear him, and his righteousness with their children’s children” – Psalm 104:17

    May God give you strength.

  4. 4 Kelsie in MT April 1, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    My thoughts and prayers are with you today! May Gods love and grace get you through this tough time.

  5. 5 Jaime April 1, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    Miranda, I am so so sorry for your loss. I lost a baby last year and it has been one of the hardest things I have ever had to go through. I am amazed at the peace that you feel and portray. You are in my thoughts.

  6. 7 Jessica April 2, 2009 at 7:54 am

    My prayers are with you and your family. I can’t imagine the loss you must be feeling. You are so right to take comfort in God’s goodness to His covenant people.

  7. 8 Sam April 3, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    I love your blog…I was so heartbroken for you to read about baby number four. Thanks for sharing about it and about your faith in Jesus.

  8. 9 Valerie April 8, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    My heart skipped when I first started reading this post. I am so sorry.

  9. 10 Banana April 13, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    I am so, so sorry to hear about your loss. We will keep your family in our prayers.

  10. 11 tiffany April 22, 2009 at 9:23 am

    I know this post is a few weeks old, but I just got my computer back. I am so sorry. We have experienced the same lost and I understand completely the bitter sweet nature of it all. I hope the you are physically doing well and my heart and prayers are with you. We grieve, but at MacKenzie said, not as those who have no hope.

  11. 12 Amy December 16, 2013 at 8:59 pm

    Miranda, we love you guys so much. You are in our prayers. May the God of peace fill you up with His peace as you hope in Him and the life to come.
    Love, the Cummings


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


