“i need a haircut, yes i do.”

my boys and their girl hair.  a point of much contention.  after the post with gideon sporting girl’s entire bow collection my father set straight to work making the boys indian headbands.  much more masculine, don’t you think?

9

my father-in-law, on the other, hand has yet to be convinced.  he offers to take the boys straight to the hair salon the minute he walks in.  followed by last minute pleadings right before he leaves.

6

but i will not me moved.  i refuse to be the slave of the haircut.  it never stays the way you left it.  it is always growing out and nagging you into another $10 visit.  not fair.  i have tried to cut hair myself, but my husband has outlawed this practice.  (numerous reasons.)  fortunately, i have found a solution.  indian hair.  it only needs cutting every six months or so, when you need to keep it above the shoulders.  the boys’ has finally got to the length where it is starting to stay out of their eyes.  in fact, it would have been there a lot sooner if my mother hadn’t whipped out her scissors within 10 minutes of them entering her house when i sent them on vacation.  i had foreseen this possible occurrence, of course, only i called with my friendly reminder 10 minutes too late.  i knew she was bad, but i didn’t think she was so speedy.

7

10

8

gideon also wants a bow and arrow for his birthday.  maybe a loincloth too.  i wonder if fair and fairest would even tan?

51

21

now i just need to think of their indian names.  any ideas?

12 Responses to ““i need a haircut, yes i do.””


  1. 1 grandma and granddad March 29, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    now you need to get some beads and have them decorate the long strings or tie feathers on them. granddad is now busy trying to come up with good names. i see they both got got haircuts to some degree. as ususal they are adorable

  2. 2 alberta March 29, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    Your boys remind me so much of Natalie, but in a boy way! I especially love the sixth picture. Those smirks say so much…like “we are major stinkers”.

  3. 3 alberta March 29, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    Do you remember Mrs. Rasco reading Swift Arrow?

  4. 4 mavis March 29, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    the sixth picture especially reminds me of natalie. 😉

  5. 5 Anonymous March 29, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    how about “my parents keep me girlie” and “eats hair with every meal”?

  6. 6 grandma and granddad March 29, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    GD here. ARE YOU MAN ENOUGH TO WEAR THE HAIR? Civilized is just another word for un-natural. God instituted the Nazarites as mighty men with self control and principle. They ate only real food sanctified by the word of God, and drank water. No fruit, no juice, no alcohol. The Indians who came here were Nazarite tribes that were bold frontiersmen. They have no tolerance for alcohol to this day. When artists portray the ultimate male. He has long hair. Samson was a Nazarite. So was Elijah, Samuel, John the Baptist and Jesus. There were whole tribes of them. Mighty men. The problem today. Long hair belongs to Hippies and Jesus freaks. That eat anything, drink anything, smoke anything, mutilate anything, nothing is sacred, no day is Holy, etc.

  7. 7 grandma and granddad March 30, 2009 at 6:18 am

    GD again. Jehu means “Like Jehova” However you spell it. Jehu’s indian name is “Yellow Hair”. That’s what they called Custer. Jehu and Custer were like Jehovah. They got things done. They executed judgment. Didn’t fool around. Although Custer failed to have a directive from God sometimes.

  8. 8 grandma and granddad March 30, 2009 at 6:48 am

    GD. Grandma changed my mind. I figured out Gideon’s Indian name. Gideon means ” Tree Cutter. ” So his name is ” White Beaver. ” Grandma says that just won’t work. Jehu will want to be some animal too. So It’s ” White Beaver ” and ” Yellow Fox.”

  9. 9 grandma and granddad March 30, 2009 at 6:56 am

    Grandma just thought of the Inian name for Jael. So perfect. We heard an owl for couple of hours last night. She’s so wise, with her big eyes. Dark red hair. So there you have it red, yellow, and white. ” Red Owl.”

  10. 10 archshrk March 30, 2009 at 8:29 am

    I’d reconsider the whole Indian garb idea, lest you fall victim to The Paradise Syndrome.

    I won’t argue the long-hair/short-hair issue but I do want to point out to “Granddad” that there is a difference between feminine and masculine long hair – and that’s were we need to be careful. I’m not saying the boys are feminine, just that it could become a problem.

    Also, I thought Anonymous’ name suggestions were funny but I think the boys would like Granddad’s suggestions better.

  11. 11 mavis March 30, 2009 at 9:07 am

    i’m afraid indian garb is inescapably traditional around here. growing up my dad was always making us moccasins, dying us with walnut juice and spending $200 on deer hide to sew us indian dresses. i still remember my brother running around the farm in his loincloth, summer after summer, until my sister and i kindly pointed out that it just wasn’t decent.

  12. 12 Gayla March 30, 2009 at 9:35 am

    I am anonymous. I didn’t realize my name wasn’t in the post. Their other grandmother, me, isn’t bugged by the hair as much as the rat’s nest I always have to comb out of Jehu’s hair. I feel for the poor kid. Every time he lies on his back, he gets knots in his hair. They’re both so darn cute they could have shaved heads and still be charming.


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


