just thinking

girl got some money for her birthday from grammy, so i think i will purchase her this red crib set.  and my mother gave her money for curtains.  (i know, it is what she has always wanted.)  so now i’m one step closer to decorating her room and one step closer to kicking her out of mine.  i can’t believe she’s been in there a year.  at least baby number four will be sure of a room.  even if she will still have to share with little jael.  as long as i’m not the one sharing, that’s okay.

cribgarden-party

the picture on the right is one of the fabric picks for curtains.  all the choices are pretty crazy, so i might want to find a way to use them as trim on something more docile.  my idea is to decorate around these boy/girl prints i picked up at a yard sale.  my mother conveniently has the matching figurines to go with.  (even if i will have to pry them out of her cold, stubby fingers.)  but they are pretty irresistible.

boy-and-girl

here are the two other fabric choices.  any votes?  i don’t think i’ve found anything perfect.  but maybe they will do better paired with something solid.  i still need a curtain design as well.  maybe some little cafe curtains?

garden-party-2kaffe

the room will house a crib, rocker and changing table/cabinet.  and they all need painted.  i am kind of thinking of painting the rocker a bold yellow, like below.  and the crib and changing table a real muted green.  or even a yellow white.  but the bottom left picture sums up the color scheme i’m leaning towards.  i’m just not sure how to use it.

yellow-rocking-chairrug

and i really do like this crazy ikea rug.  which i might be able to use if the rest of the room doesn”t end up too much on the wild side.  which it usually does.  although i am trying to skill myself in the art of moderation.  in everything excepting my kitchen, of course.

12 Responses to “just thinking”


  1. 1 mackenzie March 9, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Is that gingham in the crib set? If so, I put the nix on all those curtains. I do like that rug though. If I were you I’d stick the rug in and find some curtains that work with rug and said crib set. I like the idea of solid cafe curtains. Or maybe something with a subtle leaf pattern to go with those cute kid pictures.

  2. 2 mavis March 9, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    you’re so right mackenzie. ah, the voice of reason. except i will need to find someone to drive to salt lake if i set my eye on the rug. it’s not available online. of course, where there is a will there is a way. also, how about you find me this said “leafy” fabric?

  3. 4 Denise March 9, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Have you ever seen this blog??? http://gobabyidaho.blogspot.com/
    It made me think of you…

  4. 5 Banana March 9, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    The boy and girl prints are so cute. I love the colors. Of the three fabrics the last two get my vote. I like the blueish one the best, but I’m not sure it would go with gingham…

  5. 6 mom March 10, 2009 at 10:04 am

    hi, have the yellow paint for you. 3/4 left of a gallon. i like the last two prints also. what ever you decide you will have fun doing.

  6. 7 mackenzie March 10, 2009 at 10:34 am

    That leafy print is perfect. Did you find it for sale anywhere?

  7. 8 mackenzie March 10, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Or maybe you could talk Sally into bringing it to Moscow next time she comes. I’m sure she’d do an ikea run for you.

  8. 9 Kate March 19, 2009 at 6:01 am

    Wow! I LOVE all those fabrics! Beautiful! Where did you find them?

  9. 10 mavis March 19, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    well the first two are anna maria horner and the last one is kaffe fassett. i really like the anna maria stuff. and i’m dying to use this on something:
    http://dapperduds.ecrater.com/product.php?pid=3114494
    it looks truly vintage. in an old, nasty, wallpaper kind of way.

  10. 11 Liz March 28, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    I love all of those prints! I used that exact Kaffe print for bumper pads for Hazel’s bassinet. It looked wonderful (if I do say so myself)).


  1. 1 and then there was color « Trackback on October 30, 2009 at 1:39 pm
Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


