like there’s no tomorrow

i’ve been busy making baby number four.  you know, with my mid-morning nap, my afternoon nap and my evening nap.  it really is a very tedious business.  even though i do have incredibly easy pregnancies.  i don’t get sick, i just feel the need to go into hibernation for a few months and then i’m right back at it.  and i can deal with hibernation.  the laundry and my husband, however, cannot.  my heart bleeds for them, truly.

vintage-baby1

but i am happy.  i love loving babies.  i think the world spares no pains in teaching us that children are a nuisance and even worse, they’re hard on the environment (shocking).  well let me tell you about your car and your cow eating habit…  really.  children are meted out with such fear and caution it’s hard to discern if we view them as a blessing or a curse.  i believe they are a blessing.  and i mean it.  when you think of the wild abandon with which god made the world you have to wonder what he was thinking.  why did he do it?  just so we could screw it all up and he would have to come down here and die for us?  i think it’s because the love of god is a love that is driven to create.  it finds it’s greatest joy in giving itself up for another.  our currency is a little bit different.  we watch out for number one.  number two and number three kind of mess up the agenda.  and there is nothing we like less than sacrifice.  but i think our god revels in sacrifice.  there is no self in heaven, but the giving of self.  when you guard yourself you have your reward.  but when you give and eternity gives back to you – you have everything.  this is the currency, joy and power of the trinity.  and this is what god lets us in on when he gave us the blessing of children.  self destroys and misunderstands this blessing.  but sacrifice receives and enjoys it.

i don’t plan on having children “irresponsibly,” but i plan on having them enthusiastically.  i believe they are the best thing we are given on this planet and i intend to order my life accordingly.  i don’t want to have as many children as i can “afford,” i want to prioritize my life around affording children.  i don’t need a $20,000 car or a $200,000 house.  i want an ugly car and a home, brimming with beautiful, loved and desired children.  piles of them.

19 Responses to “like there’s no tomorrow”


  1. 1 Autumn March 2, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    What wonderful news! Congratulations!
    I would love to be making # 2, but #1 was a kind of surprise… and I think a husband is in order before anything happens in that department anymore.
    You’re family is just lovely!

  2. 2 mavis March 2, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    ah yes, husbands. where do you find those at anyways? you should listen to the “men and masculinity” talk in the sidebar. about the difference between the men and the boys (they’re mostly all boys). let me know if you have any luck! (i recommend violence.)

  3. 3 megan March 2, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Congratulations! and no ehud!

  4. 4 Autumn March 2, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    I’ve actually listened to those already. Driscoll is a tad, um, strongly opinionated, but I agreed with his Proverbs sermons.
    I’ve got my eye out for the elusive Menkind and will keep you updated!

  5. 5 Boo March 2, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    Way to get busy! And thanks for the wise reminders.

  6. 6 mavis March 2, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    autumn – he is indeed. but i’m the kind of person who likes disagreeing with people, so it doesn’t bother me at all. 😉 next you have to try ecclesiastes. that was fun too.

  7. 7 archshrk March 2, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    Beautifully said.

  8. 8 Anonymous March 2, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    Congrats!!! How exciting for you and your family.

  9. 9 Jessica March 2, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    Congratulations!!!

    Your post is the truth. Our culture doesn’t know what true treasures children are. I want a baby in the worst way. I have a baby but I already want another. Even though baby number one is teething. I still just can’t believe what an amazing little person God gave us to raise! It is amaaazing! Pregnancy is pretty amazing too. I love feeling baby nudges and kicks. Oh and I hibernated with Michaela too…it is hard work making those babies!

  10. 10 chelsey d. roberts March 2, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    congratulations!
    i totally agree, especially when it comes to “affording children”. my husband and i have decided the same things as you, we will make other sacrafices in order to have the blessing of children.

  11. 11 Banana March 3, 2009 at 12:17 am

    So well said!! Babies are amazing. My DH and I said we were done for a while since we have three little ones and we are joining the military (he will be gone a lot), but I have to admit that when I sit down to nurse those sneaky little thoughts (of another baby) try to wiggle their way into my head. I guess that’s when I notice that her legs hang over the edge of my lap now, and she is quite nearly a toddler. No, I can’t imagine that our baby days are completely over just yet. We may wait a while, but I am pretty sure there will be a #4. And anyway, I’m just getting good at this whole baby thing! Congratulations!!

  12. 12 Lindsey March 3, 2009 at 7:05 am

    Congratulations on baby 4! I agree with you entirely (sorry for not putting forth good disagreement on the subject) about our society’s view of children and the way children are to be viewed. There is actually a really good article on Rock For Life’s website on the same basis. (it is their birth control article.) in addition to that, C.S. Lewis’s essay, The Abolition of Man, has a lot to say on the subject as well! Happy incubating!

  13. 13 Judy March 3, 2009 at 7:44 am

    I’m happy for you. You and your hubby make beautiful babies. When I read your blog I can feel the love. Yes, your babies are a blessing, a blessing accepted from God as a blessing.

    We don’t really care what the kook-aid drinkers think anyway, do we? You keep having those pretty babies as long as God gives them to you…Your DH’s quiver will be full, and you will be surrounded in your old age by young people who love you.

    You may have said but I didn’t catch it. When is 4 due to arrive?

  14. 14 mavis March 3, 2009 at 8:19 am

    baby number 4 is due in october. that gives us birthdays in oct, nov, dec, jan and feb. crazy. jael and dinah will be about 20 months apart. hopefully they will be as good of friends as gideon and jehu (who are inseparable).
    thanks for all your kind comments, i am glad to know i am not the only one.

  15. 15 bec March 3, 2009 at 9:03 am

    congratulations! and well stated. now i can’t get someone’s in the kitchen with dinah out of my head.

  16. 17 Angela March 4, 2009 at 8:46 am

    I’m so happy for you! You guys make such cute kids. Congratulations!

  17. 18 Auntie Megan March 4, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    where’s pictures from girly’s birthday?


  1. 1 Meet Mavis | archshrk Trackback on March 3, 2009 at 9:31 am
Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

Top Posts & Pages

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


