a human sized minky

because people are people too.  and because becca kept threatening to steal the one i made for her baby, so i made her one for christmas.

brocade

the only problem is that it seemed kind of cold.  it’s just brocade backed with pseudo skinned baby duck, or whatever that fabric is.  if you lined it you would have to tie it with something and yarn would just not jive.  some kind of cute french knots maybe, but my mind didn’t traverse that far.

brocade11brocade2

i did get around to doing a decorative stitch around the edge.  which took around two hours to complete.  or maybe it just felt like two hours, in any case it was a bad idea.

brocade3brocade12

but some people are so worth it.  🙂

7 Responses to “a human sized minky”


  1. 1 bec January 7, 2009 at 9:31 am

    Oh good. I am glad I am worth it. It is one well loved blanket, and i don’t notice the cold. though i do have to fight mallory off.

  2. 2 Mom January 7, 2009 at 9:39 am

    It is beautiful. I never would have thought you to be a seamstress. But you have the touch. Love Mom.

  3. 3 Gayla January 7, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Becca gets all the good stuff. Sigh.

  4. 4 Kelsie in MT January 9, 2009 at 9:52 am

    I made my first hooter hider last night and it turned out really cute. Then I made a matching burpie and buttie (I printed your directions off). They had soft terry at joanns for the b&bs. I think it was the velour kind – it was kind of ribbed. (I dont know how else to describe it.) Im not trying to stalk your blog. I just found a link to your hooter hider a long time and and now I just like to see your sewing projects.

  5. 5 Angela January 9, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    I’m pretty much just stalking your blog. You’re hilarious. :o) I’ve got my husband hooked too.

  6. 6 mavis January 9, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    kelsie, angela – i don’t believe it. i certainly don’t feel hilarious. i feel like hunting down some vitamin b and reading self-help books. and sad to say, the sewing days might be at an end. *both* sewing machines have to go to the shop and then consequently be ransomed. instead, i will probably entertain myself by buying a gallon of white, latex, semi-gloss and put second coats on the miles of molding around here. and no one would find that very exciting.

    p.s. kelsie, aren’t you the lucky one. you wouldn’t believe how many people email me for that pattern and i never thought to print it off myself. crazy.

  7. 7 Kelsie in MT January 12, 2009 at 9:01 am

    I feel quite proud of myself for managing to acquire the elusive hooter hider pattern. It sure makes baby presents easier. Especially considering I have like 8 friends who are pregnant…


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


