some food

i’ve been trying some new recipes lately.  my husband likes to ask during dinner, “what made you think this recipe would be any good?”.  i know, sometimes i’m in too much of a hurry to read them.  until i’m cooking and i get to the part, “balsamic vinegar…cinnamon…cayenne pepper…” then i go, “what in sam hell?”  but there were a few worth recommending, like this chewy soup here.  curried lentil and red chard soup.  and lay on the lime and the jalapeno, by all means.

soup

also, i relly enjoyed basmati rice with cashews, peas and fresh coriander.  served with this very best recipe for naan (indian flat bread loaded with garlic and brushed with butter).  and these baja black beans were spanky.  it was sort of like eating fresh salsa on rice (kind of strange, but still good).  and now that my husband has suffered through a pile of recipes you have at least three good ones to share with yours.  after you kill a cow to go with.  because, as we all know, it’s not really food until something dies.

2 Responses to “some food”


  1. 1 Em November 24, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    I was just sitting around thinking “what should I do with this leftover chard?” and “I should probably use up those red lentils.” Not kidding. The soup turned out great. I used less curry and more liquid. I combined some with pureed carrots for my baby who enjoyed it as well. Not bad for a Monday.
    Thanks.

  2. 2 mavis November 24, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    em – if i made it again i would use more liquid too. except i would keep the curry, since half the time i don’t think my taste buds work. i’m glad you liked it (and baby too).


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


