soapy soap

i do three to five loads of laundry a day.  i’m an addict.  when i run out of things to wash, i go on little hunts.  i’ve been known to make my husband take off his pants on the spot.  gimme gimme.  so i’ve finally got around to trying some homemade laundry soap recipes.  maybe they will make my bad habits a little more feasible.  this is a picture of the powdered version.  it is easier and less messy than the “cooked” version.

soap

but i must say the cooked version is cheaper, goes farther and not near as hard or messy as making dinner.  so no complaining.  it’s easy, cheap, environmentally friendly, and boss (it get’t the job done).  it’s not hard to see why it is having a comeback.  my mom was reading an article in the paper the other day, they were wondering how they even got housewives to stop making their own laundry soap.  advertising baby.  10-20 dollars for 64 loads versus 55 cents.  it’s crazy.  what were we thinking?

as an update, i’m now making this 5 gallon version.  because i wash clothes like there is no tomorrow and there’s nothing like a 5 gallon bucket of goop hanging out in your laundry room.

14 Responses to “soapy soap”


  1. 1 archshrk November 6, 2008 at 12:20 am

    I kept thinking “is that pasta with sugar?” then I read the recipe. So how well does it clean?

  2. 2 bec November 6, 2008 at 7:41 am

    k…here’s your mission should you choose to accept it:

    does it work in cold water?
    does it get out tomato, pumpkin, or chocolate stains?
    how about poop?

    i’m all about cheap

    thanks!

  3. 3 Jessica November 6, 2008 at 7:45 am

    *De-lurking* I enjoy your blog a lot. Your posts brighten my day and make me laugh a LOT.

    My husband makes our laundry soap. We had to hunt for a while to find all the ingredients and finally found the “washer’s soda” in the pool supplies isle. It wasn’t labled as washers soda either but my husband is a chemistry buff and figured it out.

    I am curious what recipe you use? What are the yellow curly things?

    Thanks!

  4. 4 Jessica November 6, 2008 at 7:47 am

    Oh I just saw you posted the link. My bad. Sorry.

  5. 5 mom November 6, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    Hi, I love this recipe for soap. I have been making soap for two months. The answer to all your questions is try it. You are only out five dollars. In the two months that I have been making this, I still have half a box of soda and borax left. I figure I save $20.00 a month. I only wash in cold and I pre-soak stains. I have yet to notice any problems with the finished product. It only takes two minutes to grate the soap and I cook it on the stove while i am doing the dishes. No mess. One grater and one pot, that wipes clean. The soap has a nice clean smell. I have only had two batches that did not turn out perfect, but I was still was able to use the product and did not notice anything wrong with my laundry. When done, I put my soap into a pot with a lid and leave on top of the dryer. It has a kind of soft, jello consistency and will separate a little while it sits. But I still use all of the product in the end. No phosphates, perfumes or dyes, and no residue in the clothes. Sometimes when I wash with cold and use powder soap it doesn’t always come all the way out because it didn’t totally dissolve. I don’t know about you, but I could sure use $20.00 somewhere else on my grocery bill.

  6. 6 Leslie November 6, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Hi I just came across your blog for the first time…and ended up stayng for quite some time. 🙂 thanks for the entertainment. I am going to make my own soap soon. Wanted to see if you still have the pics and instructions for the nursing wrap. I saw a post on another site leading me to yours, but it looks like it has been deleted. I am making one for a friend for her baby who will be here very soon, and can’t find good instructions online anywhere, especially ones w/pictures. Thanks in advance if you can help! 🙂
    ~Leslie
    leslieedens@yahoo.com

  7. 7 momsmess November 7, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Love the homemade laundry soap, thanks for linking to my blog. I posted my recipes for homemade fabric softeners. The nice thing about the homemade soap is that you really don’t need the fabric softener (except sometimes in the winter), but I know a lot of people who still like the fabric softener.

  8. 8 mom November 7, 2008 at 10:44 am

    To momsmess, why does it curdle sometimes? Does it warm up on the stove to long? Is the water to be cold, luke warm? Just curious, it doesn’t seem to effect the results of the soap, just the looks.

  9. 9 Judy November 10, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    I’m gathering the ingredients for my first batch…

    I hadn’t seen the dry version before. It looks like it’s got itty bitty worms in it. LOL.

  10. 10 momsmess November 11, 2008 at 11:22 am

    I have no idea why it curdles sometimes. I think it might have to do with the water temp. or maybe how long you “cook” it, but I am not sure. I have had batches that turned out completely different even though I have done everything exactly the same. I figure as long as it works, I am not going to worry about it! Sorry I couldn’t give a better answer.

  11. 11 Gayla November 13, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    I made the powdered soap last night and washed several loads. The whites were fine. (I did add extra oxyclean and use the longest cycle for one load of whites that I’m very particular about). I used warm/cold water. Goes a long way and seems like good laundry soap.

  12. 12 Whitney November 16, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    How does the homemade soap work on your cloth diapers? I use Bumgenius pocket diapers (kind of like fuzzibunz) and they are super picky about detergent buildup. I was also wondering what happened to your tutorial on making the hooter hider. I am pregnant again and tried finding it, but it said that it was deleted. Thanks for the great post!

  13. 13 mavis November 17, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    whitney – i’ve actually never used it on them. i think i tried two soaps on my diapers, something free and clear from costco and seventh generation baby. both ended badly so i bought allen’s naturally online. it’s $25 for a quart, but you only use a teaspoon and a half per load. no ammonia smells so far. i think it’s worth it. oh yes, and as far as hooties go, the mafia made me take that down. but google around a bit and you should find something similar. thanks*m

  14. 14 Whitney November 18, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Aww… that crazy mafia! Luckily I found a friend that printed out your pattern when she made some for herself. You get a lot of comments wondering where that pattern went! I use all natural country save which works ok, but I may have to go wild and buy the Allens. Thanks!


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


