“someone, please save me from my sister.”

if anyone wondered why i wasn’t blogging, it’s because i’m holed up in deary, idaho. my husband is climbing trees with my dad and all there is for me to do is mind other people’s business (my specialty). last week i shook out all the contents of my sister’s bedroom and put it back together in a civilized fashion. (no offense) but she had the furniture pushed into the corner, clothes in her closet from when she was four, and stuff stashed like she was a squirrel heading for hibernation.

i wish i had some before shots. i was so surprised i ended up with the above. apparently my mom had been collecting the components for some time but they had got shoved in drawers or forgotten about or overwhelmed by other elements. when i was done, she had a completely matchy room and i didn’t even see it coming.

natalie, on the other hand, was a little suspicious. she would march by the door every so often, give me dirty looks and dig things out of the yard sale pile. or tell me things like, “miranda, you can’t throw away my books because the cover isn’t attractive enough for the book shelf. give it back, i haven’t read that one yet.” but i think she has adapted nicely.

then, over the weekend, i buzzed down to walla walla and revamped my brothers boarding room/den of iniquity. three adolescents in a basement with surround sound, video games, projection hdtv, frozen foods, a pool and not nearly enough homework or conscripted labor. i could tell that i was needed.

this was a startling before an after project too. also with no before pictures. but if you just put “teenage boy minus parents plus dark hole” together in your mind, you should come up with something similar. not to be too hard on him. he’s not messy or lazy. he’s just a boy and when things work the way they are, why fix them? but he let me do whatever i wanted and usually responded to all inquiries with “i don’t care.” the proper male response, it would bother me if he did have a definite opinion about the color of his bedspread.

so i changed the hardware on his dresser, sanded/painted his bed, got matching hangers, a new futon cover, washed all of his bedding, re-washed all his clothes, organized his drawers, entreated him to fold his underwear in the future, vacuumed, windexed, changed all the light bulbs to match (very important), put up a closet rod for his shirts, hung a picture i ordered for him on the dignity of manners, and took him running in the morning to see if he would keep up the habit. if you click on the top right thumbnail you can see the the dirty look he is giving me while not so secretly wishing for me to go away.

all in all i am still very impressed with my siblings. while rooting through both their rooms i didn’t find any high school musical memorabilia, video games, seventeen magazines, skateboarding posters or a single t-shirt promoting shameless logo obeisance. instead, my brother seems to hoard knives, compasses, batteries, electrical tape and vintage ties. my sister likes books, stationary, antique dresses, and hats. apparently advertising hasn’t had much effect on either of them. both are hard to impress and hard to influence. which is strange considering that the common ailment among young people is susceptibility. you’ve seen one you’ve seen them all. they poke holes in themselves, yap to much, are overly opinionated with only enough education to make themselves obnoxious, they have communal bad taste, are often spotted with white strings hanging out of their ears and don’t pull up their pants. young people, they give me the heebie jeebies. the real misfortune is that they are always last in line to die.

5 Responses to ““someone, please save me from my sister.””


  1. 1 Kandi October 6, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    It looks beautiful, remind me why I’ve never let you come to my house and redecorate. We miss you Ottos when are you coming home? Billy and I picked up your mail and a million tomatoes. The Harvest party for Church is October 18 and they hope to have people donate some fresh garden tomatoes if your not back in time should we pick some? I’m also sending off the shower invitations this week–I think I’ll leave yours at my house until you get back. See you soon

  2. 2 miriam503 October 6, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    I want to do a Mavis to my own house. The master bedroom and the garage in particular… could you please have some sort of contest in which the prize is you coming to my place with a carpet bag and a flying umbrella to sand and paint things? If your arms are sore you could even just admonish me to tidy up.

  3. 3 Judy October 7, 2008 at 6:50 am

    My welcome mat is awaiting your arrival…
    forget the welcome mat. I’ll roll out the red carpet.

    You can organize my disaster anytime.
    Carte blanc!

  4. 4 Sally October 7, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Oh Mirandy, your thoughts on young people remind me sooooo much of your dad!!!! Sounds like you had tons of fun, wish I could have talked to you more the other day. Call me sometime.

  5. 5 mavis October 7, 2008 at 10:31 am

    kandi – take all the tomatoes you want. please do. see you in a week dear.

    miriam, judy – i would love too. too bad you are most likely too far away.

    sally – you should hear my thoughts on other people. 😉


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


