mango lassi

every time we would go out to indian food we would get these babies.  delicious.  and also slightly maddening, since i wanted to drink close to $20 of them in one sitting.  i was left with no other option than to learn to make them myself.  after trying lots of recipes i finally just made one up (those other people didn’t know what they were talking about).

so here it is: 1 cup milk, 1 cup plain yogurt, 1 cup mango pulp, 2 cups ice, 1/2 cup sugar, and a dash of cardamom powder.  whip it, whip it good.

it basically goes with anything spicy.  it’s not a dessert, it’s meant to go with a meal.  preferrably one that’s packin’.  then it’s appreciated all the more.

you will thank me later.

9 Responses to “mango lassi”


  1. 1 Judy September 12, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    This sounds wonderful, wonderful!
    I’ll make one tomorrow…I just so happen to have everything it calls for on hand. 😀

    If I hadn’t just finished off a 10 oz cup of plain homemade yogurt I’d make one now.

    Thanks…

  2. 2 megan September 13, 2008 at 12:28 am

    i’ll have to try. and i agree with marc about that movie ‘the fall.’

  3. 3 Judy September 13, 2008 at 6:23 am

    I’m enjoying one of these now…made enough for two so I get seconds. DH wasn’t froggy to try it. (O darn.) It stands alone deliciously…I’m having it for breakfast.

    Just for the record I used dried mango and added no sugar. It looks just like yours…and tastes wonderful.

  4. 4 Sherry September 13, 2008 at 7:32 am

    This looks delicious and I’ll have to try soon.

    On a different note, did you see all of the pink Bialetti stuff at Target? They have some stuff online, but I saw a bunch at my local store.

    http://www.target.com/gp/search/602-6484778-0137401?field-keywords=bialettti+pink&url=index%3Dtarget&ref=sr_bx_1_1

    Sherry 🙂

  5. 5 Judy September 14, 2008 at 8:23 am

    ~ sigh ~

    I made two batches of your mango lassi yesterday…and am contemplating making more now. I bet this stuff could make a person mango shaped in no time. It’s got to be swimming in calories.

    This may be the most deliciously wicked thing I’ve tried in a long time.

    …and you expect thanks. I may have to withdraw mine.

  6. 6 mavis September 15, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    judy – i am glad you like it as much as i do. 🙂 now you have to skip right out to an indian restaurant and try it with some aloo palak. mmm.

    sherry – oh my. you sent me on another pink binge i am afraid. i had to put another 100 things on my amazon wish list. all’s it takes is a little push in the wrong direction… goodness.

  7. 7 Kimberly September 16, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I heard that Mango Lassi’s are to be made with a unique kind of yogurt to get the right taste. I’ll have to try your recipe, but perhaps you might try some Kefir yogurt next time and see if it gets close to what you are used to at the Indian restaurants.

  8. 8 Kimberly September 16, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    By the way, I’m crazy about Mango Lassi’s. I love Indian food but can barely stand the heat they put in it at restaurants…these get me by with less pain.
    When will you be having an Indian food party? I’ll bring the samosa’s!!! =)


  1. 1 100 For The Sweet Tooth…A Meme « apron strings Trackback on September 14, 2008 at 9:40 am
Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


