those were the days

back when boy and i kicked it in an 18 foot airstream. it was dreamy. except for the minute and a half of hot water and sharing a twin bed. then there was sharing the twin bed pregnant. naturally, the best was yet to come – sharing the bed with a minuscule, half-baked monkey who was up all night. so i don’t really miss it. at least i got the picture.

in otto news, yesterday i pulled up our half-hearted attempt at reconstituting the lawn. i will put down some new seed today. i also scrubbed all the floors, used up the last drop of laundry soap, and put in my order for 170 feet of baseboard. just have to knock out the bathroom today and call it good. then maybe i will hang out and read because i’ve been sick all week. i wonder if i have an ear infection, or if it just hurts because i can’t keep all manner of sharp, poky objects out of my ear canal. that’s my husband’s vote.

7 Responses to “those were the days”


  1. 1 Anonymous May 15, 2008 at 9:05 am

    What a sweet little baby he was.

  2. 2 mavis May 15, 2008 at 9:09 am

    until he got fat and bald that is. 🙂

  3. 3 stitchesntime May 15, 2008 at 10:00 am

    So sorry to hear you are feeling under the weather. When my ear hurts I fill it with Swim Ear and take a Benadryl. It usually helps. The Swim Ear doesn’t feel nearly as satisfying as probing around with a fluffy, Q-tip, but it’s probably healthier in the long run. 🙂 If wax is the problem ear coning feels way good and gives much relief. (I bet you wish I’d keep my advice to myself, but I can’t help it…I’m a mother.)

    Are you the air stream artist? You never cease to amaze…

    I’m wondering if it’s ok to link your hootie tut to a piece I’m writing? Today I’ll make two for my latest grandson Micah who entered this crazy world near midnight last night. I plan on sharing the finishing product and would like to give you credit for your famous and much loved tut.

    Feel better soon.

    Judy

  4. 4 mavis May 15, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    judy – sure, fill free to link away. as for a nice fluffy q-tip, i quite often dream of manufacturing my own out of steel wool and maybe those tools for brushing in between your teeth. but i restrain myself.

  5. 5 stitchesntime May 15, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Sometimes Mavis is very skeery! 🙂

    My ear hurts just thinking about it.
    Seriously…have you ever coned your ears?
    It draws all kinds of yuck out of your inner
    ear and makes your ears feel so good.

  6. 6 Megan May 16, 2008 at 12:59 am

    I tried to find an ear cone at walgreens…didn’t happen. my ears remain waxy.
    i love those pictures of the little boy and the airstream.
    a lot can happen in four years, eh?

  7. 7 Judy May 16, 2008 at 7:29 am

    Mainstream stores don’t carry ear cones…but you found that out, Megan. 😀

    They are available online and through health food stores. They’re a little pricy considering you stick them in your ear and set them on fire…but well worth the price for clean ears. And they work.


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

Top Posts & Pages

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


