sweet marvelous floor

it’s in. yippee. and husband did such a good job on it too. he laid it out on the computer to make sure he didn’t have to cut any super skinny pieces and that the tiles around the edges were all the same width. now that’s how mavis likes it. he’s probably more like me and my pal monk than he’d like to think (that or he had ulterior motives, hard to say).

i won’t post any more pictures till we finish the baseboards and trim work. then i will give you some lovely before and after shots. anyways, i’m out of here. and congratulations to jill who won the pink, frou frou apron. i’m rather jealous.

7 Responses to “sweet marvelous floor”


  1. 1 Laurel May 8, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Gayla’s cousin here. Love your new floor. I’ve been reading a biography of Dwight Eisenhower and googled wife Mamie. Have you ever heard of “Mamie pink.” Check out this link:

    http://retrorenovation.com/2008/03/31/61-mamie-pink-kitchens-lets-start-with-10-from-the-big-name-brands-st-charles-ge-american-standard-crane-formica-and-more/

  2. 2 stitchesntime May 8, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    Floor looks great! Can’t wait to see the rest…

    Congratulations, Jill…I’m soooooooooo jealous. Funny, I didn’t think the apron was frumpy…what does that make me?

    Judy

  3. 3 stitchesntime May 8, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    I’m sure glad I learned to laugh at myself a long time ago.
    After re-reading I realize Jill did not win the beautiful Retro white eyelet apron…but I might still be jealous if I knew where to see the frumpy pink apron. 🙂

    Judy

  4. 4 mavis May 9, 2008 at 9:58 am

    there, i fixed it. picked the wrong word off the tip of my tongue. and the little confection did go to jill. it did, i swear.

  5. 5 Angela May 9, 2008 at 10:27 am

    the shadows from your french doors look pretty awesome on the new floor…

  6. 6 jupiterbuttons May 9, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    Wow, that looks amazing…very impressive DIY job.

  7. 7 stitchesntime May 10, 2008 at 6:03 am

    Ahhhh…so…You’ve confirmed my “jealousy” Frou, frou describes your give-away apron much better. Frumpy rhymes with dumpy and always conjures that image in my mind.

    Angela is right about the shadows on your floor. Your photo needs a caption.

    Judy


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


