a switcheroo

i hosted a cupcake swap saturday night. and i’m afraid i’m still suffering the consequences. my stomach is in much too tight of confines to take that kind of abuse. if only we could do it again.

cupcake1.jpg

the girls each brought a finger food and a batch of unfrosted cupcakes. so we grazed and decorated and were very happy.

cupcake5.jpg

even marc was happy. because sharla brought him chocolate cupcakes, stuffed with cream cheese and chocolate chips. he almost didn’t notice that his house was full of girls and that his wife was insane. “you don’t dust off the top of the fridge for me…” (whine, whine). he’s not that fond of the pre-party fervor.

cupcake10.jpg

here are the boys. they had the whole spread to themselves and stayed there most of the night. actually, i spent a lot of time there myself. kandi made a gourmet, deviled egg tray that was very exciting. boy made mini-papads with mint and tamarind chutney and one of the girls made a lovely spinach dip.

cupcake6.jpg

and here is kandi herself, who makes yummy eggs and is cute. what do you know? and on the right you have the otto’s breakfast this sunday morning, courtesy of sonia. all the reason a girl needs to get out of bed. works like a charm. corn flakes have no similar effect, whatsoever.

cupcake3.jpgcupcake2.jpg
1 Response to “a switcheroo”


  1. 1 Jill February 11, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Hi Mavis,
    My husband found your blog when he was searching for instructions on how to make a “hooter hider” and I’m so glad he did! You’re hilarious, I only WISH that I could be as good at sewing as you are… and your photos are awesome! I’m also looking to take up crochet.
    I’m going to try to make a hooter hider using your directions, but since I have limited sewing experience (I can make a quilt, but other than that, I haven’t made anything!), how can I get in touch with you to order one if I mess it up?


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


