totes

i counted, and i made 15 of these for christmas presents. it’s nice to have a pattern down, that whips out fast and doesn’t cause you any trouble. but i still don’t want to make any more for quite a while.

skeeda3.jpg

i like the idea of attractive, reusable, shopping bags. the dimensions are 17″ wide, 14 1/2″ tall with a 3″ gusset and 11 1/2″ handles.  i lined these ones and made them reversible. by the way, i used this tutorial and it was a breeze.) i had such a fun time picking out the fabric too. the black pair went to my sister violet, and the green went to my sister sarah.

skeeda.jpg

then i made up some green and red ones for my aunt and mother-in-law and a hodge podge assortment of others.

skeeda5.jpg

other than that, i’m just kind of glad christmas is over. time to get ready for baby. two more months!

11 Responses to “totes”


  1. 1 karynforyou December 28, 2007 at 7:43 am

    very cute bags, good idea for a christmas present too.

  2. 2 Gayla December 28, 2007 at 9:57 am

    I went to Rudy’s with mine and they were impressed. I like them a lot.

  3. 3 tiffany December 28, 2007 at 10:21 am

    All your craft pictures really inspire me to want to sew more. So far it hasn’t actually inspired me to sew, but I figure there is always hope.

    I love the bags. You have a great eye for cute fabric. We need to live in the same town so we can sew together and your boys can fall in love with my girls. 🙂

  4. 4 tiffany December 28, 2007 at 10:28 am

    I forgot to ask….have you been converted to cloth diapers yet?

  5. 5 mavis December 28, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    tiffany, yes, i have quite a few arranged marriages in my mind. 🙂 the boys’ first savings account is going to be for engagement rings (set their priorities straight young). as for sewing, it’s evil. it seems to take at least two years of messing up everything you try before good things start to happen. and we’ll be trying cloth this next go round, if you have any suggestions. 😉

  6. 6 mom December 28, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    you are just a natural when it comes to sewing. i would never have guessed.

  7. 7 Gayla December 29, 2007 at 9:41 am

    Sandy, I don’t think there’s much Miranda isn’t good at, when she sets her mind to it.
    Miranda, pink kitchen? Pretty please?

  8. 8 karynforyou December 29, 2007 at 10:53 am

    I use Cloth diapers. If I can do it anyone can do it well, with support from your husband. We lived in a apartment with the laundry machines five floors down,no elevator. What diapers have you chosen?

  9. 9 mavis December 29, 2007 at 3:33 pm

    gayla, it’s just a shame my mind doesn’t set very often. hubby usually has to stand there and wave hot chocolate over my head for quite a while, before it even turns on. then it has to figure out how to do it’s hair and by then the day is mostly shot.

    karen, i’m looking at fuzzi bunz. my highest priority for cloth diapers is a trim fit, so i want an all in one. there seems to be just too much bulk around the waist and legs when you add a separate cover. plus, hubby is willing to pay for it. he’s been wanting me to do cloth for quite a some time. that, and i want something with snaps. i don’t like picking stuff out of velcro. am i too sissified?

  10. 10 karynforyou December 30, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    noone is a sissy when they are choosing any type of cloth diaper!! get the best you can get the all in one’s are great (i have Kushies not so good but i could’nt be picky when i found them brand new at a garage sale!) Snaps are the best! ( i only have one diaper with snaps) no empting the washing machine with one diaper b/c they are all strung together. I cut white fleese into liners to make a barriar b/w the bottom and the wet cloth it also made it much easier rinsing out soiled diapers b/ it was only the liner that I needed to rinse out instead of the whole diaper which is a pain. They have better liners on the market than my fleese ones but it worked for and it was cheep!! Important on a studant loan budget! I looked at Diapering decisions a few weeks back it seems really good and less expencive than mother-ease which is what I long for I think having mother-ease diapers would cure my twiches.

  11. 11 tiffany January 7, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Forgot to check back to see if you answered me until today 🙂

    I have tons of opinions on cloth diapers as I am rather addicted. 🙂

    You’ll love Fuzzi Bunz. I just bought them a few months ago for Yasha in a size large and to use as night time pull ups for Ana’el. She misses her pampers princesses but the bright pink seemed to soften the blow. 🙂 Pocket diapers (like FBs) are the best for easy washing and dyring since the inner layer comes out and they dry fast. Plus there is no having to touch wet or messy diapers which Nolan rather appreciates. Right now the old version (which I have) is on clearance (about $2-4 off teh original price) because there is a new version. You can also get seconds for reduced cost but without any reduced efficacy.

    motherease are really high quality and affordable, but they are a one size (for babies 8lbs-30) and I don’t like them until baby is at least 3 or 4 months old otherwise it is just too bulky.

    You’ll find that clothes fit differently and that can get annoying. Onsies especially. T-shirts and Babylegs are a better clothing option when it comes to cloth. Next baby I am cutting the bottom off of the onsies an buying a bunck of Babylegs and just be done with it. Besides, the cloth diapers are cute so why hide them?

    I’m going to buy Poppy Pants next time. But they are really expensive and a total splurge. I figure though that I am still saving money over disposable (even if not as much) and I have “paid my dues” with bulky one size and consignment diapers. Time to get cute. 🙂

    You can still get a pretty trim fit with fitted plus covers vs. an all in one, but I do prefer AIOs. Just simpler. Covers can get a bit smelly.

    You can also get flushable Rice Paper liners for once baby is eating solids so the solid waste lifts off and goes right into the toilet. Makes washing easier. They are extremely cheap too. I have gotten out of the habit of using them, and so have to get a bit more involved in the cleaning process, but you get used to that as well. I consider it part of my sanctification as a mom. 🙂

    You’ll love cloth. It is quite happy. 🙂 Fuzzi Bunz also makes Mama cloth, which I love and think all women need to know about. However, I’ll save that soapbox for another day.


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


