care for some loaf?

say yes.

loaf.jpg

my husband almost refuses to eat things termed ‘loaf’. i think i am winning him over though. you might have figured by now that i am a vegetarian, in fact, i grew up one. consequently, i’ve always considered ‘loaf’ the envy of all food groups. mmm, melt in your mouth, loaf. imagine my surprise when i find that real people recoil in horror when faced with one. i am here to say, “try it, you’ll like it.” and brussel sprouts too, while you’re at it.

brussel.jpg

only fresh ones though. just cut off the stems and peel the outer leaves, then chuck them in an inch of boiling, salted water. simmer, covered, for ten minutes and then toss with butter and salt. it’s hard to say if they’re still good for you after this point, but still good nonetheless.

loaf2.jpg

am i convincing anyone yet? comeon. loaf typically consists of eggs, cottage cheese, walnuts, special k (cereal, imagine that) and seasoning. nothing that will kill you. the trick is coming up with the right combination of ingredients. this recipe did a good job, and if you’re interested, i’ll try to scare up my other favorite recipe and tack it on later.

6 Responses to “care for some loaf?”


  1. 1 mavis October 25, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    here is melissa’s recipe that i like too:

    1 lg carton small curd cottage cheese
    5 lg. eggs (slightly beaten)
    1 sm onion (chopped fine)
    1/2 c. butter
    1 c. walnuts (chopped)
    5 c. special k cereal
    1 bullion cube

    sauté onion in butter with bullion cube. (set aside) in bowl mix eggs, cottage cheese, walnuts, add in butter and onions. last add special k. put in 13X9 pan and bake @350 for 45 minutes.

  2. 2 Gayla October 25, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    Do the little boys eat this?

  3. 3 mavis October 26, 2007 at 7:23 am

    jehu does. i’m still not sure what gideon eats.

  4. 4 mom October 26, 2007 at 8:27 am

    that was joanne roasco’s favorite sabbath dish. i love brussel sprouts. but i don’t think i have ever fixed them. you should be getting an email on the stove. could you forward it to me so i can see what it looks like this morning? and also to reuben, so your dad can see. he doesn’t have people’s addresses.

  5. 5 Stacey November 11, 2007 at 8:17 am

    I just had to try this to see if it tastes like meatloaf. It’s pretty good and I’m not a vegetarian. I used olive oil and not quite as much as it called for. I also added a bunch of seasonings. Yummy! Thanks for sharing.

  6. 6 Angela February 2, 2008 at 10:51 am

    I have been reading your blog for over an hour and think it’s just hilarious. I told my husband I found my crafting hero. And now I find you are a vegetarian. (I am also.) That was the last straw. Just had to say thanks for being so inspiring!


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


