a very manly baby blanket

for baby isaac.

i went down the whole brocade aisle looking for something suited to a little boy. this happened to be displayed on the bolt backwards. when i got home i discovered the ‘right’ side. oops. not exactly my first choice.

i have been seeing these blankets in baby boutiques lately and wanted to try and make one. it definitely would have been more fun to make one for a girl, so i will try it again. just to note, it would be cheaper and easier to go with a satin and a more typical fleece. the two i choose wouldn’t even sit still long enough for me to draw a line on them. then when i got out the scissors, they practically ran away. and satin baby binding is evil. you have to pin it every inch (it seems to have escapist tendencies as well). but i am a brave girl, with lots of time on my hands, so there.

4 Responses to “a very manly baby blanket”


  1. 1 Kels September 25, 2007 at 8:36 am

    ooo it looks soft and warm…
    too bad i lack serious talant in the makin things department id make me a warm fuzzy blanket like that..

  2. 2 karen miller November 13, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    this is a beutiful blanket. I have been reading your blog, laughing and telling my husband every few minuets,” She could be my friend” we could have a lot of fun sewing and making our own things. I am a christian too. About the blanket being hard to sew use your grandma’s walking foot pfaff I have been told it will sew those walking fabric’s like a dream.

    Hope you don’t mind me reading your stories. i found your blog by googling hand made hooter hiders.


  1. 1 baby and her minky « Trackback on November 19, 2008 at 9:14 pm
  2. 2 a human sized minky « Trackback on January 6, 2009 at 8:47 pm
Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


