clean house day

i’m finally feeling better. very excited. tomorrow i’m going to make marinated tofu with grapefruit, avocado salsa and hunt down oilcloth to upholster my dining room chairs. previously, in mavisland, it was a good day if i only napped 3 times and swept something.

this is my house, if you hadn’t gathered as much already. it is also clean. or it was (when these pictures were taken), i’m not so sure about now.

myhouse.jpg

i finally reupholstered my living room furniture. but the couch shows dirt like mad. in fact, it shows water. i need to redo it, but i am going to wait until i have a real house. one where i can paint. nothing i can do is going to coerce my pink furniture into matching with that russet wall. and i don’t want it to, anyways.

livingroom.jpg

this is the nursery. anything garish goes. when we get a third bedroom the boys will have something much more moderate. i’m thinking puke yellow and eggshell blue. hooray for them.

bedroomkids.jpg

my next project is to paint the kitchen table and reupholster the chairs. i eventually want to cover the top in sheet metal but we’ll do the rest first. i also have to paint the kinderzeat, yellow or turquoise most likely. it’s really sad how the whole place looks so drab, but i think that’s what happens when you rent and they had the sense enough to tell you not to touch anything.

kitchendining.jpg

i finally hung up the valances in my room and whipped out the winter bedding. both presents from my mother (the same woman who painted my dresser goldenrod, by the way). her theory, “this is rather obscene, i think miranda will like it.” that is why i have headless, 3 boobed statue, with a removable fetus, in my living room.

bedroom.jpg

bathroom, obviously. and, on the right, one of my sewing cupboards.

bathroom11.jpgcupboard.jpg

and this is my sewing hole. it may be small, but i was thrilled to have a place where i could leave my sewing machine plugged in all the time. even more intoxicating, an ironing board with the iron out. now that is a dream.

sewinghole.jpg

that’s pretty much your full tour. i haven’t really invested myself in decorating anything. i just take what i can get. i have collected everything i’ve needed (as i’ve needed it) at yard sales. now i just want to finish some of my furniture pieces, so when we do move to my new house in the ghetto, i can give it my full attention. my husband lives in perpetual fear of that day.

my sister has posted her house too, if anyone wants to see what ‘clean’ really looks like.

6 Responses to “clean house day”


  1. 1 Paula September 20, 2007 at 9:01 am

    I love house photos!! I think your place looks really good – I have no idea how people with kids manage to paint the walls, since it would require keeping all the wee ones out of that room for a few days. Or maybe there’s a sneaky way to paint that I haven’t thought of.

    Your living room upholstery is very impressive and I really like the goldenrod dresser.

  2. 2 I Just Work Here September 20, 2007 at 10:36 am

    You have a nice house! I love the wood floors. It’s neat how you’ve brought life to it with colors a lot of people wouldn’t use.

  3. 3 mavis September 20, 2007 at 11:55 am

    i like my house too, excepting that it’s not mine. when i have my own little pile of sticks i will work on making things tie together more, but now i just let things be. and that is probably a good thing.

  4. 4 mom September 20, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    what a lovely home for such a lovely family. and the curtains look very nice. and i am glad to know you are truly feeling better. love mom

  5. 5 Sarah September 20, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    It makes me wonder, seeing how the Airstream contained almost every element of creativity possible in such a small space and now you have just expanded that by ten to fit that house I can’t imagine you having a bigger space. I have ideas for these kind of things, decorating and Martha Stewart type ventures but I don’t think I could follow thru to actually make them happen. I like to throw things away more than I like to put them together.
    The less I have in my house the less I have on my mind and there is not a lot of room in my pea brain.


  1. 1 picky picky « Trackback on September 21, 2007 at 11:57 am
Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

Top Posts & Pages

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


