my scientific classification of flowers

it began with me not liking tulips. i wasn’t sure why, until i realized they were just loose. always letting it all hang out. daffodils on the other hand are all that’s proper and marriageable, but without the irresistible allure of peonies (talk about stacked). so today, while sitting in my hammock, i was contemplating this bunch of crocuses and wondering why they were annoying me when i should be glad to have them around.

crocus.jpg

it’s because they’re dumb. they’re like the “phoebe” of flowers. dumb and easy. if it’s warm two days in the dead of winter they just pop right up. show some sense. other unlikeable flowers include morning glories, which are insinuating and shallow (they bloom for a whole of 2 days) and petunias which remind me of a horde 13 year old girls on a school crosswalk. …marigolds, a line of grandmas stacked under hair dryers. all this in mind, i asked my husband which kind of flower he thought i was. true to form, he replied, “the ones that grow up and then fall over because they can’t support their own weight.” i’m not exactly sure which type of flower this is, apparently it’s on the unlikeable list, though it could conceivably be the well busted and unlikeable variety. if you think optimistically.

6 Responses to “my scientific classification of flowers”


  1. 1 I Just Work Here September 12, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    This post made me giggle! And of course I am now wonder what type of flower I am. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. 2 mavis September 12, 2007 at 8:01 pm

    ahha, i see wordpress is pulling the same trick on you. whenever i want to comment on another wordpress blog i have to remember to log out first or else it won’t link me. the nerve.

    a lovely avatar, by the way. fun blog too.

  3. 3 chocolatevegetables September 13, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    Freesias would be the flower your dh meant.

    Love the blog, will stop by again.

    Best
    CV

  4. 4 I Just Work Here September 16, 2007 at 9:14 pm

    So do I need to log out and then log back in? How odd…

  5. 5 mavis September 17, 2007 at 8:01 am

    actually, i think there is something in your profile you change. yours is fine now, what did you do? i think i just need to poke around some more.

  6. 6 mavis September 17, 2007 at 8:07 am

    it worked. jolly. i assumed wordpress would be more than willing to recognize me, but i guess you have to specify in your profile. “please don’t ignore me, i glow, you can click on me.”


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

Top Posts & Pages

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


