crocheted rug

i thought i would put this up if anyone was keen on making a rug. my mother and grandmother made this one for me. i did the last couple rows and was surprised at how easy it was.

rug.jpg

unlike braided rugs, you don’t have to sew all the rows together when you are done. just get real big crochet hook (#9) and have at it. first you rip all the material into strips (as opposed to cutting them) and sew the ends together to make a long, long strip. my brother says you just cut little slits in the ends of the strips and loop them all through each other, (he’s a near genius, ask him to draw you a picture). the only thing is that it takes a lot of fabric. so if you ever see a stack of ugly material at a yard sale say “oh, just the thing.”

3 Responses to “crocheted rug”


  1. 1 Miss Dilly Dally June 5, 2007 at 12:13 pm

    Lovely rug you have there. I have extra fabric just laying around, literally…. unfortunately. AND I think I even have an extra large crochet hook somewhere too! Don’t ask me if I crochet though. I never have taken the time to learn, but now I just might! 🙂

  2. 2 mavis June 5, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    oh jolly good. and don’t let it intimidate you. it’s just the same single crochet stitch, over and over. you do have to watch if you have enough material to make a complete round once you start getting to the outside though. and i bet you do have a heap of lovely scraps about. have at it!

  3. 3 Lorraine September 9, 2008 at 9:21 am

    Hi-I love ‘Keeping Up Appearances’. Our 14 year old daughter watches it tooo. We were volunteering at a Botanical Garden last Fall and some visitors came from England to talk with us. I mentioned the show and one of the ladies was extreamly concerned that Americans thought all Brits were like Mrs. Booookayyyy. We tried to reassure her we didn’t to no avail. The real reason I wrote is to tell you how lovely your rug is. I will try it myself. I will guess as to how wide to make the strips and how to connect it after I make the chain. Thank you for sharing.


Comments are currently closed.



keeping up appearances

vicar: "oh no, it's the bucket woman. drive, drive!!"

Top Posts & Pages

yet another sucker on pinterest

my etsy shop

archives

Goodreads


